Ageing · Bottled Beer · Craft Beer

First post / Born To Die

After doing a bit of writing for a local CAMRA magazine, we decided it might be fun to keep a blog of our own.  Somewhere where we could go off script, and write about what we are drinking and what is happening locally.  What’s the best way to breathe life into a new blog?  By drinking a dead beer, of course.

We recently came into possession of an out of date bottle in Brewdog’s Born To Die series, and were obviously very interested to find out how it tastes long after it was meant to be drunk.  Ageing beers is far from a new concept, but it doesn’t generally fit with hop forward beers like this.

btd 1. It did go well with some fish and chips, 2. Pewter mugs are rather cool.

Philip: I’m not all that familiar with the Born To Die series in truth.  I used to be a bigger fan of Brewdog than I am now – they shelved most of the beers I knew and came up with a new range.  I have been sporadically catching up with the new range though: some I like (Jet Black Heart), some I don’t (Doodlebug, the Hammer series).  I do know what to expect from it though – big American hops, bitterness, resin.  It’s designed to have a short shelf life (45 days?), and should be a big punch of hops if drank correctly.

Claire: I’m all in favour of ageing beers (don’t ask how old the oldest bottle in the house is!) but I’ve never tried it with something purposefully designed to be short lived. I’m not a massive hophead either, preferring my beers on either the strong, dark and malty side, or as sour as you can get, so this was definitely something different from the usual for me. I would have it again, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to find it, and possibly wouldn’t go for it while it’s still ‘alive’ and hopping.

Our dead beer on the other hand was quite restrained – yes, it was strong and bitter but the fruity hop flavours had definitely faded.  However, (for Philip, at least) the beer did not suffer because of it.  It was gentle, delicately balanced and far too easy easy to drink.  Probably not what the brewers intended, but none the worse for it.

It’s good to know that even if you do leave the bottle in the back of your cupboard, you can still enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

